Wednesday, May 2, 2012

20th Anniversary Celebration

In celebration of UP Astronomical Society's 20 years of existence, a formal dinner was held last March 10, 2012 at the PAGASA Astronomical Observatory Sun Deck. It was themed as a 1950's Classic Dinner with some hip music to boot. Music, games, awesome performances, and stories from the members made the night a very memorable one.

The Rockin' and Groovin': A Triple Surprise for the Brightest Stars was also held to close the successful celebration of UP Astronomical Society's National Astronomy Week 2012.

The next Executive Cluster was presented during the celebration. They are as follows:

Mary Angelie Alagao as Over-all Coordinator
Francis Kevin Bugaoan as Executive Secretary
Carlo Ray Selabao as Education and Research Cluster Coordinator
Nikko Albano as External Affairs Cluster Coordinator
Beb Jansen Poricallan as Finance Cluster Coordinator
Norman Mascarinas as Observation and Instrumentation Cluster Coordinator
Sheena Salvosa as Resource Cluster Coordinator

A spectacular show of sky lanterns was then held to end the event.

Photo by Anthony Guiller Urbano

Thus, UP Astronomical Society continues to shine under its motto: To the Stars through Difficulties!

UP Astronomical Society

BIG BANG 2012 Results

Last February, BIG BANG: Astronomy Quiz Show pushed through successfully. This coming year, the organization is already preparing another set of activities that everyone would surely enjoy. So stay tuned friends! We'll keep on updating you. By the way, thank you for all of you who supported us through your participation in our activities. Hoping to see you soon!

Some of the participants of BIG BANG 2012

Here are the results of BIG BANG 2012 last February 2012:


San Beda College Alabang Team B

Saint Jude Catholic School
Philippine Science High School
Pasig City Science High School Team B
San Beda College Team A
Benigno "Ninoy" Aquino High School
Grace Christian College Team A
Villamor High School
Pasig City Science High School Team A


Champion: Grace Christian College
1st Runner-up: Pasig City Science High School Team B
2nd Runner-up: Philippine Science High School

UP Astronomical Society and the Philippine Society Youth Science Clubs

Congratulations to everyone who participated! We hope that it was a worthwhile and enriching experience for you as it was with us. Ad Astra Per Aspera - To the Stars through Difficulties!

BIG BANG 2012 is hosted by UP Astronomical Society in partnership with Philippine Society of Youth Science Clubs. Its major sponsors are Moonleaf Tea Shop and D' Great Rovers, while minor sponsors are The Mind Museum, Blessings Book Binding and Photocopying Services, and Heat Flow Construction Corporation.